What’s old is new

Banner image of black and white photograph of vintage cycle tourists.

My most committed relationship is officially over after four long years.

It wasn’t easy, but this week I sat down with my blog and said I wanted to see other templates. There were tears and even the threat of a system crash, but eventually my old design packed its files and walked out the digital door forever.

Good riddance.

I don’t mind that it was slow, or that it needed a good day just to be ugly. I could even live with its annoying habit of asking me where to post pictures and then putting them wherever it damn well pleased.

The deal-breaker was that it was boring. Great blogs are dynamic and stimulating (think bee sting on your geek-clit) – mine was more like Lawrence Welk on a Friday night.

I don’t regret my decision. It turns out there are hundreds of fun WordPress templates just waiting for a guy like me. I separated the candidates into two camps – one sexy, practical and functional, and the other having all the subtlety of cat in a tumble dryer.

The first group was very small. One, in fact.

It took a long night of courting and coding, but now I can finally introduce Oxygen as my new blog theme. It’s pretty and shiny and new and I kind of love it.

I’m eager to hear your thoughts as well. Is the change good? Bad? Morally reprehensible?

Drop me a line in the comments section, and remember you can stay updated on my latest bicycle travels by subscribing to the site or following me on Facebook.

6 responses to “What’s old is new

  1. Well sorry to say but I prefered the other one. It was old, yeah, but that made it original (as nobody wants to have that anymore… hehehe) ; that one reminds me of too many others.
    But no matter the form, it’s the content we’re interested in ;)

    • I needed a change, but you make a good point. I kept a copy of the old site in case I find myself in an “old and original” mood. ;)

  2. I like it! A blog is like a good pair of shoes. You wear them for years and years until there is a hole in them and you have to get a new pair. You put on the new pair and remember how great new shoes are; comfortable, hip, and shiny! Mike, your new blog is shiny!

    • Woo hoo! All my clothes and gear were old when I bought them – it’s about time I had something new! :D

Add your thoughts . . .

